Japan International Cooperation Agency
  • 日本語
  • English
  • Français
  • Espanol
  • Home
  • About JICA
  • News & Features
  • Countries & Regions
  • Our Work
  • Publications
  • Investor Relations

Asia (ASEAN)/Pacific

ASEAN University Network / Southeast Asia Engineering Education Development Network (AUN/SEED-Net)

PhotoAn Indonesian expert explaining how to conduct post-earthquake damage assessment to the Asian participants

The Southeast Asia Engineering Education Development Network (SEED-Net) Project was officially established as an autonomous sub-network of the ASEAN University Network (AUN) in April 2001. The AUN/SEED-Net project aims at promoting human resources development in engineering in ASEAN for the region’s sustainable economic development. The Network consists of 19 leading institutions from 10 ASEAN countries [1] and 11 leading Japanese Supporting Universities. The project is mainly supported by the Japanese Government through JICA and partially supported by the ASEAN Foundation and the governments of the ASEAN through Member Institutions.
Activities of the project have been managed by the AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat with support of the JICA, now based at Chulalongkorn University, Thailand.

The Missions of the Project is :

  1. To activate internationally competitive personnel in leading engineering educational institutions in the region
    • - for advancing academic cooperation on an equal footing
    • - for providing educational and technical assistance to less advanced engineering institutions.
  2. To promote collaboration and solidarity between academics and professionals in the region through the cross-border and region-wide development of engineering education and research capabilities.
December 1997Concept of SEED-Net evolved from an initiative of H.E. Mr. Ryutaro Hashimoto at the ASEAN-Japan Summit Meeting
November 1999SEED-Net was announced as one of the main programs of the "Obuchi Plan"
March 2001Establishment of Japanese Supporting University Consortium (JSUC)
23 April 2001Official establishment of AUN/SEED-Net Preparatory Stage
11 March 2003Start of Phase I (2003-2008)
11 March 2008Start of Phase II (2008-2013)
March 2013 Phase III (2013-2018)
March 2018 Phase IV (2018-2023)


  • [1] Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam


Copyright © Japan International Cooperation Agency