



Cooperation with Africa

Foreword

This publication is the outcome of collective work by the T20 "Cooperation with Africa" taskforce members who voluntarily participated in the process of producing policy briefs and recommendations for T20 Japan. I would like to express my sincere appreciation to all the taskforce members who kindly shared their precious time to produce briefs on the most relevant policy issues in African development today.

I would especially like to thank Dr. Kapil Kapoor, Director General, Southern African Regions for the African Development Bank, and the lead co-chair of this taskforce, as well as Dr. Elizabeth Sidiropoulos, Chief Executive, South African Institute of International Affairs, who chaired the Africa Standing Group (ASG) which has continuously worked on the past few T20 efforts, including T20 Japan, for African development.

We, the taskforce members, would like to thank Dr. Naoyuki Yoshino, Dean of the Asian Development Bank Institute (ADBI), and the T20 Policy Research Team led by Mr. Katsuyuki Meguro, Ms. Mari Sawada and Mr. So-heon Lee for their excellent support and coordination during the preparation of policy briefs and the logistical arrangements for the T20 summit.

In addition, we would like to appreciate the financial support provided by the German Development Institute (DIE) at the T20 summit.

> Ryosuke Nakata Chief Economist Japan International Cooperation Agency Lead Co-chair of Task Force on "Cooperation with Africa"